Various - Live At Mr. B's

Tracklist Hide Credits

Introduction- Lee Michael Dempsey
A1 Up This Hill And Down
Written-By – Richard D. Staedtler
A2 Hold To God's Unchanging Hand
Written-By – Traditional
Introduction Of Musicians: Mark Intro. Rickie Simpkins
Introduction Of Musicians: Larry Intro. Bill Emerson
Introduction Of Musicians: Mark Intro. Ronnie Simpkins
A3 Rose Of Old Kentucky
Written-By – Bill Monroe
A4 Love Please Come Home
Written-By – Leon Jackson
A5 Flint Hill Special
Written-By – Earl Scruggs
Introduction By Larry Of The First Guest David Parmley
B1 Live And Let Live
Written-By – Gene Sullivan, Wiley Walker
B2 Dim Lights And Thick Smoke
Written-By – Joe Maphis, Lee Sidler*
B3 You'll Be Loving Another Man
Written-By – Bill Monroe, Lester Flatt
B4 It Takes One To Know One
Written-By – Freddie Hart, Harlan Howard
B5 Turkey In The Straw
Written-By – Traditional
C1 I Know What It Means To Be Lonely
Written-By – James Brockman, James Kendis, Nat Vincent
C2 How Great Thou Art
Written-By – Stuart Hine*
Introduction By Mark Of Second Guest Lou Reid
C3 Molly And Tenbrooks
Written-By – Bill Monroe
C4 Lonesome River
Written-By – Carter Stanley
C5 My Walking Shoes Don't Fit Me Anymore
Written-By – B. Monroe*
Introduction By Mark Of Third Guest John Starling
D1 Dark Hollow
Written-By – Jimmie Skinner
D2 Don't Expect To Walk Back In
Written-By – Randall Hylton
D3 The Girl I Left In Tennessee
D4 Mr. Engineer
Written-By – Jimmy Martin, Paul Williams
D5 Rolling In My Sweet Baby's Arms
Written-By – Lester Flatt


  • Banjo – Bill Emerson (tracks: A3 to D1, D3 to D5)
  • Bass – Ronnie Simpkins (tracks: A3 to D5)
  • Fiddle – Rickie Simpkins (tracks: A3 to D5)
  • Guitar – David Parmley (tracks: B1 to B3), Mark Newton (tracks: A1 to A5, B4 to C2, D3 to D5)
  • Guitar, Lead Vocals – John Starling (tracks: D1, D2), Lou Reid (tracks: C3 to C5)
  • Harmony Vocals – Bill Emerson (tracks: B4, C2, C5, D4), Larry Stephenson (tracks: A4, B1 To B4, D3 to D5), Mark Newton (tracks: A3), Rickie Simpkins (tracks: A3, A4, B1 to B3, C2 to C4, D3, D5)
  • Lead Vocals – David Parmley (tracks: B1 to B3), Larry Stephenson (tracks: A3, C1, C2), Mark Newton (tracks: D3 to D5)
  • Mandolin – Larry Stephenson (tracks: A1 to C2,), Mark Newton (tracks: C3 to D2)
  • Vocals – Larry Stephenson (tracks: A1, A2), Mark Newton (tracks: A1, A2)

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
BRLP-1 Various Live At Mr. B's ‎(Cass, Album) Live Productions, Inc., B's Records BRLP-1 US 1988