Herbie Mann - Waterbed

  • Artist: Herbie Mann
  • Category: Funk / Soul
  • Name: Waterbed
  • Size: 1332mb
  • Quality: FLAC, MP3

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Waterbed
Tenor Saxophone – David Newman*Written-By – Melvin Barton*, Walter Chiles
A2 Comin' Home Baby
Written-By – Benjamin Tucker*, Bob Dorough
A3 Paradise Music
Written-By – Herbie Mann
A4 Bang! Bang!
Written-By – Jimmy Sabater, Joe Cuba
B1 Deus Xango
Drums – Alan Schwartzberg*, Darryl WashingtonWritten-By – Astor Piazzolla
B2 Violet Don't Be Blue
Vocals – Cissy HoustonWritten-By – Pat Kirby, Pat Rebillot
B3 I Got A Woman
Tenor Saxophone – David Newman*Written-By – Ray Charles
B4 Body Oil
Written-By – Herbie Mann

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
  • Copyright (c) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
  • Pressed By – PRC Recording Company, Richmond, IN
  • Printed By – Queens Litho
  • Manufactured By – Atlantic Recording Corporation


  • Arranged By, Keyboards – Pat Rebillot
  • Art Direction – Bob Defrin, Paula Scher
  • Backing Vocals – Cissy Houston, Eunice Peterson, Sylvia Shemwell
  • Bass – Tony Levin (tracks: A2 to A4, B4), Will Lee (tracks: A1, B1 to B3)
  • Cello – Michael Rudiakov (tracks: A3 to B2, B4)
  • Drums – Steve Gadd (tracks: A1 to A4, B2 to B4)
  • Guitar – Bob Mann (tracks: A2 to A4, B4), Hugh McCracken (tracks: A2 to A4, B4), Jeff Mironov (tracks: A1, B1 to B3), Jerry Friedmann*
  • Percussion – Armen Halburian, Ralph MacDonald, Ray Barretto, Ray Mantilla (tracks: A2 to A4, B4)
  • Photography By – Arnold Rosenberg
  • Producer, Flute – Herbie Mann
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Jimmy Douglass
  • Viola – Jean Dane* (tracks: A3 to B2, B4)
  • Violin – Anahid Ajemian (tracks: A3 to B2, B4), Matthew Raimondi (tracks: A3 to B2, B4)


Variant, pressed by PRC Recording Company, Richmond, IN

Recorded at Atlantic Recording Studios and Media Sound Studio, New York, New York.

The string quartet on 'Paradise Music', 'Deus Xango', 'Violet Don't Be Blue' & 'Body Oil' is the Composers String Quartet consisting of: Matthew Raimondi & Anahid Ajemian, violins; Jean Dane, viola & Michael Rudiakov, cello.

All background vocals are by "The Hijackers" consisting of Cissy Houston, Sylvia Schemwell & Eunice Peterson.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Matrix / Runout (Label A): ST-A-753431RI
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B): ST-A-753432RI
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A, Variant 1): ST-A-753431-BBB-1 111 AT PRC
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B, Variant 1): ST-A-753432-BBB-1 AT PRC
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A, Variant 2): ST-A-753431-BBB-1 AT PRC
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B, Variant 2): ST-A-753432-BBB-1-11 AT PRC

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
SD 1676 Herbie Mann Waterbed ‎(LP, Album) Atlantic SD 1676 US 1975
none Herbie Mann Waterbed ‎(LP, Album, W/Lbl) Atlantic none US 1975
ATL CS 1676 0797 Herbie Mann Waterbed ‎(Cass, Album, Sli) Atlantic ATL CS 1676 0797 US 1975
SD 1676 Herbie Mann Waterbed ‎(LP, Album, Club) Atlantic SD 1676 US 1975
K50174 Herbie Mann Waterbed ‎(LP, Album) Atlantic K50174 UK 1975